top of page

Quite Frankly's Favourite Singles of the Month


For the last Music Sunday of May, us music contributors have decided to collaborate for our favourite singles of the month. These are our top 10 songs we’ve enjoyed in May. A few of them came out late April, but we’re including them because we enjoyed listening to them this month.

Manoli’s Favourites

Camila Cabello - Crying in the Club

Camila Cabello has finally released her debut solo single after departing from girl group Fifth Harmony. The song’s production has huge names behind it, with Benny Blanco producing the song, and Sia was a co-writer! From first listen, straight away you are hit with the Sia similarities in terms of introduction of the beat, and how Cabello sings the song. ‘Crying in the Club’ suits Cabello very well, and showcases her unique tone in her voice with the many runs in the last chorus. The beat is also very soothing and catchy.

Attention - Charlie Puth

‘Attention’ is something fresh and different from Charlie Puth’s first album sound, and it is great. From the guitar riffs in the verse, building up to the chorus with Puth’s falsetto vocals and added percussion being used to give the song some rhythm is what helps lift the song. The song is very chilled despite the message of the lyrics, and is something different on the pop scene.

HUMBLE. - Kendrick Lamar

This is the best gym workout song of the past few months in my opinion. You feel like you are able to do anything at the gym, which I know from experience. The infectious beat, and Lamar’s raps make for a very fresh song that has made it to mainstream radio. Plus, I love the intro of the song. Hype up.

There’s Nothing Holding Me Back - Shawn Mendes

Shawn Mendes knows how to release hit after hit, in his own acoustic style. The song is very upbeat, and just has me saying ‘what a jam!’ Mendes’ vocals are very raspy in the chorus along with the electric guitar riff, which leads to the very infectious and smooth chorus beat break. Very well produced.

New Takeover - Stan Walker

Stan Walker has been a bit quiet on the music scene the past years in Australia due to the low promotion by his label. Typical. Walker has released some great songs the past few months, including ‘Messages’. But, ‘New Takeover’ is something completely different, with an even better sound Walker is exploring. The song has an empowering message behind it, which Walker explains on his instagram. Walker said, “This is me coming of age. Hopefully wise, more honest and alot more outspoken in every way.” Walker’s vocals are sounding great mixed in with the synth percussion and brass instruments.

Mikayla’s Favourites

Whatever It Takes - Imagine Dragons

‘Whatever it Takes’ is the latest single from the upcoming Imagine Dragons album, ‘Evolve’. I listen to it on the train to uni and I like it because I feel like it gets me keen for the day. It’s motivating and all about overcoming obstacles, and a cool listen generally.

Break a Little - kirstin

‘Break a Little’ is the debut solo single for Pentatonix member Kirstin Maldonado. I admit I’m a bit biased because I love Kirstin but this song is just really cool and I feel like it’s a heartfelt romantic song. It’s full of emotion and is just really catchy.

One More Light - Linkin Park

Okay, I had no idea Linkin Park was still creating music. They kinda dropped off my radar during high school, but I really enjoyed being reintroduced to their sound. ‘One More Light’ is one of the songs off their new album of the same name. I like that it’s slow because I associate Linkin Park with fast, heavier songs, so I really love this new feel. It’s really emotional and reminds me of 00’s music.

Thunder - Imagine Dragons

‘Thunder’ is also a single from Imagine Dragons’ upcoming album ‘Evolve’. I originally didn’t like this song, but it’s definitely grown on me. I like it because it’s new sound for Imagine Dragons and I appreciate their new experimentation with sounds. I listen to this song on the way to uni and I feel like it gets me in the right mindset to seize the day.

Young and Menace - Fall Out Boy

‘Young and Menace’ is a song off Fall Out Boy’s new album, ‘M A N I A’ . This song is just really enjoyable because it’s typical Fall Out Boy, but amped up and awesome. It’s in the vein of ‘Immortals’, which was released a few years ago. It’s honestly just a really good song, and I feel like people who don’t typically listen to Fall Out Boy would enjoy it.


Recent Posts
bottom of page