top of page

Hans Zimmer Revealed review

On May 2nd, I skipped class to go to 'Hans Zimmer: Revealed" at Sydney Olympic Park.

For those who don't know, Hans is a very famous composer of film scores like 'Pirates of the Caribbean', 'The Dark Knight', and 'The Lion King.' The thing that got me really psyched for this concert was that he would be performing with his band. During the performance, he said that they'd been playing together for 40 years. (Holy crap!!!) The band itself was made of about 20 people, and they were joined onstage by some members of the Sydney Orchestra and the Sydney Choir.

The ticket was a Christmas present from my elder sister and I had been pumped to go all year. I went alone, but I knew where I had to go and how to get there, etc, so I wasn't too worried. My mum (Happy Mother's Day!!!) had booked me a cheap room at a hotel nearby for the night, so I didn't have to worry about getting home safely.

The funniest thing was that I had what many would consider the worst seat in the entire arena. I was in literally the last row, but, I was at the side, so I was able to see Hans and his entire band. Plus, the entirety of the audience, which was super cool. I was initially a bit disappointed, but the ticket was a present after all, and I was just happy to be there. I knew my sister would have killed to be with me.

In the end, it honestly didn't matter.

This concert meant a lot to me because I'm obsessed with soundtracks because I grew up learning various musical instruments.

Because of this, I attended band camp for a few years. The feeling of playing in an orchestra is this feeling of solidarity and passion. It's like being a part of a machine. The different components of the orchestra are the cogs and thingy ma jigs, and each part needs to do it's job for the machine to work, for the music to sound awesome and coherent.

Hearing Hans Zimmer and his band was like that, but better. I could feel the music physically through the vibrations (those acoustics!), but more than that, I could feel the passion of the band, and of course Hans. It was so incredible. Even more, I could see it!! The percussionists were out of this world amazing.

They opened with the music from the TV series 'Sherlock', and then went into 'Crimson Tide' and 'Gladiator' (and a few others) and then 'the Lion King' and 'Pirates of the Caribbean'. In the second half, they did a bunch of Superhero movies like 'The Dark Knight' and 'Man of Steel', plus others. I enjoyed the first half more than the second, but all of it was amazing.

Hearing 'The Lion King' and 'Pirates of the Caribbean' was so surreal. The vocalist in 'The Lion King' was incredible, naturally. It was so weird hearing the music I'd grown up with, especially from such an iconic movie. But the cellist in 'Pirates of the Caribbean' was so intense and passionate in her performance, I think the performance will stay with me the rest of my life. I hope it will. A really cool thing that she did was do the best hair flip I've ever seen when they started the main theme. Which of course, gave me goosebumps.

The other thing I feel like I have to mention is that I didn't film any of it (my phone died anyway) because I personally don't believe in it. Just because I feel like people film concerts because they want to relive it later, but I think that detracts from the actual live performance itself. If you like doing that, that's totally fine. You do you.

I've been to a few concerts in my life, but this was the best by far. The whole time I just couldn't believe that I was lucky enough to be there.

Hans and the band got a standing ovation, of course (after we demanded an encore). On the way to the motel, I heard others gushing about it, sounding as exhilarated as I felt.

I bought a mug (yeah I like mugs, what of it?) and the program as a reminder of the night.

I know many of you know what I'm talking about, the rush of seeing artists like Hans Zimmer, and those who don't, have the opportunity to experience it.


Recent Posts
bottom of page