top of page

It’s Time We Started Treating People Humanly

Photography: Helen Peden

I am currently preparing for an international relations exam about contemporary global issues. Therefore, every morning I wake up and watch the news for current case studies. Sometimes I watch both Australian and German news, just to get more than one perspective on the issues. Recently, events seem to repeat themselves; or at least that’s what it feels like. A big issue that I believe needs to be addressed is the refugee crisis in Europe.


On Friday 4th, ABC News 24 reported that within a 48-time span, 200 asylum seekers had drowned off the coast of Libya. Leonard Doyle, the International Organization for Migration's (IOM) chief spokesman, reported that “two rubber dinghies... packed with migrants, totalling over 300... have succumbed to the waves off Libya in very bad weather”.


Now at first, this didn’t shock me. Can you believe that? I sat cross legged drinking tea and eating breakfast without even a comment of remorse. I did double back though, realising that I did in fact feel empathy for these precious lives lost. But unfortunately, these news stories have become too familiar to really impact me. It’s like, you wake up every day for a workout right? You put your runners on and you tie your shoelaces and that’s your routine. Well, every morning I wake up and I watch news that informs me of death. Now, I’m definitely not spiteful of news broadcasters telling these truths as they don’t nearly report on enough of these cases. But I am angry at myself for not reacting the way one should. So, I wrote this to connect with others that sometimes experience this feeling. But before I

continue, let me tell you something. You’re not the only one.

Now, at the heart of this issue is not how desensitised we have become as a developed society. Although, this is an important issue. At the heart of this issue is things like the slave trade, which began in the mid 17th century. It’s the hierarchy of humanity (one person believing themselves more superior than another) that closed off our borders, that made us fearful of different races, cultures, etc. Here is the truth. Without immigration, most of us would not exist. Without immigration the European population will decrease by 125 million by 2050.


Without a better, more inclusive immigration system around the globe, people will continue to die fleeing conflict and persecution. Terrorism is a threat. But getting hit by a bus tomorrow while crossing a street is also a threat. This year alone 4,220 people have died trying to cross the Mediterranean. We have to stop looking at this issue so politically. We need to imagine ourselves in their situation. Imagine being a mother, a father, a sister, or a brother trying to look after what remains of your family. We need to stop viewing the world as a hierarchy of humanity. We need to start viewing the world as open, just like most of our trade is and also most of our communication is. I do not know everything; in fact, I know very little about how immigration works. But honestly, should I need to know how it works to make humane decisions? I know I would do anything to save my family. I know I would do anything to save myself. We all do. So why can’t we help others save themselves and their families?


It’s not ok that we’ve been desensitised to these issues. But I understand how we have been. When people are safe and they have shelter and food, nothing seems too terrible. While others who have nothing are simply fighting for survival. So what can we do? The first thing I’d suggest is to treat others equally to yourself; as you would like to be treated. Offer everyone around you respect and friendship. Never discriminate against a person. Just never do it. Fight back against those who discriminate against other people. Finally, voice your opinion to whomever will listen. Try to make “important” people listen. Let’s help change the view of immigration. Not just in Europe and Australia but everywhere.

Recent Posts
bottom of page