top of page

10 Signs You're An Old Soul

A friend called me the other night at 7.30. She asked what I was doing and if I wanted to go out. I looked down at my white, lace nighty that goes down to my ankles and makes me resemble a sack of home brand flour. I replied "I think I’ll give it a miss.” I am an old soul at heart. The idea of being outside past 9pm makes me feel physically sick, and don’t get me started on going on pub crawls.

If you’re like me, secretly an 80-year-old at heart, here are some signs that might be the case.

1. You’ve always felt more comfortable hanging out with older people. Have you ever found yourself at your friend’s party just talking to their parents? Or maybe just at your friend’s parents party yourself talking to someone about what life was like in the Great Depression.

2. You’re usually in bed by 10pm and just the idea of doing an all-nighter makes you both physically and emotionally tired.

3. You would rather stay at home with a bottle of wine and some cheese than go out clubbing.

4. When you watch movies with teenagers in it, you relate more to the parents. Kelly’s mum says she can’t go out with Jarryd? Good, I agree, that boy is nothing but trouble.

5. A good weekend for you consists of you staying at home and reading, the idea of being out drinking all weekend makes you feel like you need to take some liver supplements.

6. Your preferred drink is tea.

7. You have a collection of vintage music and any sort of House music is like a foreign land to you.

8. Your grocery shopping experiences are always exercising your cost-cutting skills. There’s bread that’s 20c cheaper? THINK OF THE SAVINGS.

9. You can't keep up with the new technology.

10. When you watch the news you find yourself saying “What is this world coming to?” and “This wouldn’t have happened when I was young.”

Recent Posts
bottom of page