top of page

MY FANBOY OVER FRANK OCEAN: NEW ALBUM


FRANK OCEAN’S ALBUM IS HERE! ‘BLOND’ was released last weekend four years after ‘Channel Orange’. At one stage, fans suspected that there wouldn't be a next album, after many delays from Ocean. But, the music gods were looking down on us and we were blessed with Ocean’s presence once again.

Several weeks ago, I started seeing Frank Ocean trending on Twitter. I freaked out, thinking his album had dropped and I was behind in my music goss. However, it was just some sort of livestream, which had been released on his website. I checked it out and all I could see was a room with several workbenches, some background music and nothing going on. Wot.

This was met with confusion. Quickly followed by more research which suggested the release of his album was going to be August 5th.

Nek minut. August 5 arrives, and we have no Frank Ocean album. Major fml.

Then, BAM! Last Friday, 19 August, making a surprising re-appearace on his livestream, the singer dropped a 45 minute visual album titled ‘Endless’

The 45-minute long video doesn't show new images, but instead features the new music Ocean's been playing in the mysterious warehouse. I was two seconds in to the visual album, and I was already being hit by feels.

I may have been hearing a lot of drilling noises and watching...Frank Ocean build a staircase? BUT, it’s Ocean, so....

BUT LETS GET TO THE IMPORTANT ALBUM SHALL WE!? The next day, Frank Ocean releases his album ‘Blond’.

The album is full of feelings and ideas of love and despondent loss. Ocean tells a story throughout, with each song contributing to a piece of the puzzle. I just couldn’t deal. I was in love. The standout tracks ‘Nike’ and ‘Ivy’ to start off the album.

Then I’m caught off guard when Beyonce sings one line and back-up vocals in ‘Pink + White’! One line and she still slayed everyone’s existence.

Also can we talk about the amazingly, chilled song ‘Solo’. Ocean’s angelic and smooth vocals with raw background instrument sounds… it was divine. How about ‘Solo (Reprise)’. This was basically Andre 3000 spitting a rap for 1:19minutes.

Andre 3000 throws shade at rappers who use ghost-writers, and I was shocked.

After listening to the album over and over again, I felt like this:

I was still getting over the Frank Ocean overload on Sunday. And a few of my friends (who I shall not name, ily) stated they had no idea who Frank Ocean was, and also didn’t care about his new album. I was about to faint. But then, I had to look to Twitter for some relatability:

Basically, Frank Ocean’s new album was amazing, and worth the wait. Although I would not recommend leaving us in the dark for four years again thanks. What do you think about the album? Pure masterpiece, or overrated?

For more about this author, and the rest of the QF team, click here.

Recent Posts
bottom of page