top of page

Dating myself


The beginning of the year always brings new hope, with people flooding into the gym or promising to read more, it’s the good old new year’s resolutions. Along with “Stop eating chocolate in bed,” one of mine was “Do more things alone.” Be young and single - I always wanted to embrace it, but I felt like going out alone was something that I could never do. So, just to make myself a little more uncomfortable, I went to a concert by myself.

Getting in to the arena where the concert was held, I was reminded that I was in fact, very alone. I thought of a great pun, and had no one to tell, so I laughed at myself briefly before the realisation that this would continue all night, sunk in. “Oh well, It’s my forte” I thought. When it came to buying the tickets, I didn’t want to be alone AND broke, so I went for the cheapest, third row from the back. I thought as long as I’m in the same room as Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, it would be just as good as actually being able to see them.

When I got to the door, Rhonda, the ticket checking lady (official title, of course) said: “How many of you are here tonight?” While I handed her my ticket, I laughed to myself, sighed and said “Just one.” I knew Rhonda could feel my pain, I saw it in her eyes. Her blue eyes almost reflected off the bright, artificial, blue shirt she was wearing that read “Do you need any help?” Yes, Rhonda, I do.

My new friend told me, with a hint of pity still in her eyes, “This area is closed off, you’ll have to be re-seated. Since you’re by yourself, I can upgrade you to the first row, closest seat to the stage.” Suddenly, much like Rosie Waterland and Oprah, Rhonda is one of my new heroes. I said “Thank you” around nine times before she said, “Is anyone else waiting?” It seemed like a short response, but I knew what she meant was “You are an independent woman who cannot be stopped.” BLESS YOU AND YOUR INSPIRATIONAL WORDS RHONDA.

I hustled my way to my new seat, like the bad ass loner I was. I slowly start to feel at ease with being by myself. I was a bit concerned about the woman next to me who was holding her keys between her index and middle finger. But, the wallpaper on her phone was a photo of a dog, so she couldn't be too bad. With that, I realised that this wasn't too hard and that I could do this.

The concert starts, and key lady disappears. I relax knowing I’m not at risk of being shanked. I experience slight angst as I realise I now have to dance alone, because usually, I dance like a drunk old aunt at a wedding. Those sort of move feels more acceptable with friends, not so much when alone. I think of my new hero, Rhonda, and her wise words “Is anyone else waiting?” I’m waiting Rhonda. I’m waiting to be the cool, nonchalant, independent woman I’m meant to be, and so I dance.

The thing is, I shouldn’t have felt like I could only enjoy a concert with friends. I can make bad puns and dance by myself, and once I realised that, everything was okay. If you’ve ever considered going somewhere alone, but been too scared. Do it, do it for Rhonda. It’s really empowering.

Find out more about this author and the rest of the QF team here.

Recent Posts
bottom of page