top of page

Bringing sports to the outback


John James Van Bockxmeer is a doctor in the Kimberly region (in Western Australia) and wants to improve the health of all Australians. Van Bockxmeer has set up a not-for-profit charity called Fair Game that recycles donated sports equipment and provides education to remote communities through targeted fitness, health and nutrition programs. Fair Game has donated over 8000 items of recycled equipment to migrant and indigenous communities.

This is John's story.

“During my university years I spent a large percentage of my time overseas volunteering, working and doing student exchange. When I started working as a doctor I chose placements at the hospital in Port Hedland in the Pilbara region of Western Australia. Looking out the window of the hospital I saw local kids kicking a tin can around a dusty oval. At the same time I would have patients presenting with heart conditions and diabetes at such young ages. Despite my years of volunteering overseas I realised that there was inequality in our own back yard that I had never seen. I felt ashamed that we had let our rural and remote populations become physically and mentally disadvantaged and wanted to change this.

I came up with an idea of using recycled sports equipment to inspire people in remote communities to stay fit and healthy. From here I discussed this with a small group of friends who were enthused to give it a shot. We started collecting equipment and making community connections whilst investigating the legal side of how to set up an organisation. We formed an incorporation, opened a bank account, established an ABN [Australian Business Number], got a basic website and brand and then drove across Western Australia!

There were so many challenges but the biggest one for us was defining who we were without ever having to have ‘tested’ our model. In our start-up phase we were struggling to find funding and were supporting Fair Game out of our own pockets… not to mention our living rooms full of recycled sports equipment!

Being the founder and chair of Fair Game has sent my life on a completely different course. I have a much deeper understanding on indigenous culture, and the time spent in remote areas has changed my career from being an urban to a rural emergency doctor. I have established a wonderful network of friends through Fair Game and have learnt some incredible skills, some through trial and error and others through key industry mentors.

I am constantly rewarded by the increasingly deep relationships we are maintaining with remote Indigenous communities. My biggest reward was actually last weekend where on my 29th birthday a remote community threw me a surprise party and gave me a painting.

I truly believe that Australia’s youth are some of the most passionate and caring around the world. If we can foster a culture of celebrating success rather than knocking down the tallest poppy I believe this will help young leaders gain confidence to dare to dream”.

For more information on Fair Game, check out their website.

Find out more about this author and the rest of the QF team here.

Recent Posts
bottom of page